• Peter Lamont, Esq.

Did You Know? Laws Against Discrimination and Protected Classes

All employees are entitled, as part of their civil rights pursuant to the Constitution of the the United States and most state constitutions, to employment free from unlawful discrimination. At the federal level, the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (“EEOC”) regulates, promulgates and enforces federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee based upon a variety of factors.

Federal law, pursuant to Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (“Title VII”), Title 1 of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 “(ADA”), the Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 (“ADEA”) and related laws, prohibits discrimination by employers on the basis of race, color, sex, religion, national origin, age, disability, and genetic information, as well as reprisal for protected activity. These categories are known as “protected classes.” Included in these broad classes are sexual preference and pregnancy.

Separately, most if not all states, have their own laws concerning workplace discrimination. In some cases, the state laws may supersede federal law, especially in situations where the state law is broader than federal laws. For example, New Jersey’s Law Against Discrimination (“LAD”) adds additional protected classes to its statue making it stricter than federal laws. Contractors need to be aware of both federal and state employment laws in order to make certain that they are complying with the law.

If you would like more information about your rights or obligations as an employer or employee please contact me at pl@pjlesq.com or via telephone at (973) 949-3770.

#employment #discrimination #sex #age #religion #nationalorigin #disability #sexualpreference #protectedclass #hiring #humanresources


Main Site

Other Links

Social Links

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
NJ Podcast Host and Attorney Peter Lamont

Office & Contact

New Jersey Office

191 Godwin Avenue, Ste. 4 

Wyckoff, NJ 07481

New York Office

34 Willis Avenue

Mineola, NY 11501

T: (201) 904-2211

F: (866) 603-0471

© 2010- 2019  Law Offices of Peter J. Lamont. All Rights Reserved.


New Jersey and New York Business, Contract, Litigation, and Real Estate Lawyers serving all NJ including the counties of Bergen, Passaic, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Sussex, Middlesex, Hunterdon, Atlantic, Essex, & Union. Offices in New York serving Nassau, Suffolk, Brooklyn, Rockland, Queens, Manhattan & Long Island. 


ATTORNEY ADVERTISING. This email is designed for informational purposes only. The information presented in this email should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship. No aspect of this advertisement has been approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey. Before making your choice of attorney, you should give this matter careful thought. The selection of an attorney is an important decision.  Committee on Attorney Advertising, Hughes Justice Complex, CN 037, Trenton, New Jersey 08625.



Templar Logo.png